Showing 9057 results

Authority record

British Columbia (Colony). Governor (1858-1864 : Douglas)

  • 1
  • Government
  • 1858-1871

The first Governor of the Colony of British Columbia, James Douglas, was appointed in 1858 by royal commission (22 Vict., 2 September 1858). Prior to that, the territories known as New Caledonia were under grant to the Hudson’s Bay Company. The establishment of the Colony of British Columbia resulted from two events: the termination the Crown grant with the Hudson’s Bay Company and, at the same time, an influx of population into the area resulting from the Fraser River gold rush. The Government of British Columbia Act provided for a legislature with a council and an assembly, but from 1858 to 1864 absolute power and authority for the colony was invested by the Crown in the Governor. He was responsible for making and proclaiming laws and ordinances to establish "peace, order and good government" in the Colony. During this time, James Douglas was also the Governor of the Colony of Vancouver Island. In 1863, the Colonial Office in England instituted constitutional changes for the Colony of British Columbia, parallel to those for the Colony of Vancouver Island, by establishing an Executive Council and a Legislative Council. The Governor was still the officer administering the government. Douglas retired in 1864 and Frederick Seymour was appointed Governor of the Colony of British Columbia. At the same time, Edward Kennedy was appointed Governor of the Colony of Vancouver Island. When the two colonies united in 1866, the government administration for the Colony of Vancouver Island ceased to exist and the island came under the governance of the Colony of British Columbia. Seymour remained as Governor of the united Colony of British Columbia and it was under his administration that the capital of the colony was moved from New Westminster to Victoria in 1868. Seymour died in 1869 and he was succeeded as Governor by Anthony Musgrave. Musgrave was the Governor for the next two years, strongly supporting the Colony’s bid to join confederation as a province of the Dominion of Canada, which it did in 1871. Most of the colonial officials remained in their positions, under the authority of Lieutenant-Governor Joseph Trutch, until an election was held a few months after confederation. The first Premier of the province of British Columbia was John McCreight who served from 1871 to 1872

Vancouver Island. Legislative Council

  • 10
  • Government
  • 1863-1866

The Legislative Council of the Colony of Vancouver Island was established in 1863 when the governor, under instruction from the Colonial Office, introduced a new government structure for the colony. The governor dissolved the Council and replaced it with an Executive Council and a Legislative Council. The Assembly, with an increase to fifteen members, retained its status as lower house, where legislation initiated by the Executive Council was debated and approved. The Legislative Council assumed the legislative functions of the former Council (upper house). Its fifteen members included five members of the Executive Council (not the governor), five magistrates, and five appointed members representing the districts of the colony (Victoria, Esquimalt, Sooke, and Nanaimo). When the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia were united in 1866, the government administration for the Colony of Vancouver Island ceased to exist. The power and authority of the Executive and Legislative Councils of the Colony of British Columbia was extended to include Vancouver Island. Two magistrates and four selected representatives from the island were added to the Legislative Council of the united British Columbia.

British Columbia. Ministry of Finance (2001-)

  • 100
  • Government
  • 2001-

The Ministry of Finance and Corporate Relations name reverted to the Ministry of Finance in 2001 when corporate functions were transferred to the newly established Ministry of Management Services (OIC 565/01). The current mandate is to provide financial-sector regulation, revenue collection, and services to the public and private sectors through branches which include Treasury Board, Provincial Treasury, Government Services and Registries, Corporate and Ministry Support Services, Revenue Division, Office of the Comptroller General, Business Partnerships Division, and Crown Corporations Secretariat.

Dustin, F.W.

  • 1001
  • Person

Mrs. F.W. Dustin owned a boarding house in Conklin Gulch.

E.T. Dodge and Company

  • 1002
  • Corporate body

E.T. Dodge and Company were freight merchants in New Westminster, B.C.

Eagle and Paxton Store

  • 1003
  • Corporate body

Eagle and Paxton Store was a store and trading post at 150 Mile House.

Edgar and Aime (Firm)

  • 1009
  • Corporate body

Edgar and Aime was a wholesale provision company.

British Columbia. Colonial Secretary

  • 101
  • Government
  • 1871-1872

The office of Colonial Secretary was established in 1871 by authority of The Constitution Act of 1871 (SBC 1871, c. 147). Prior to that, the origins of this ministry were in the offices of the Colonial Secretaries for the Colony of Vancouver Island (1863-1866), the Colony of British Columbia (1864-1866) and the united colony of British Columbia (1866-1871). When British Columbia joined confederation in 1871, the name Colonial Secretary remained in place until April 1872 when a Provincial Secretary was named to assume the duties and functions (SBC 1872, c. 15).

The mandate of the Colonial Secretary included all the powers, duties and functions held by provincial secretaries and registrars in other provinces of the Dominion of Canada. They included being the keeper of the Great Seal of the Province, with the authority to issues letters patent and commissions, and being the keeper of all registers and archives of the province.

Educational Research Institute of British Columbia

  • 1011
  • Corporate body

The Educational Research Institute of British Columbia (ERIBC) was founded in 1967, a successor agency to the British Columbia Educational Research Council, an independent association established in 1956 to promote educational research.

Edwards (family)

  • 1012
  • Family

The Edwards family were dairy farmers in Chilliwack, B.C. Thomas Maddock Edwards lived in England, Calgary, and Whitehorse before settling in Chilliwack in 1920. Edwards was a Director of the Fraser Valley Milk Producers Association.

Edwards, Abel

  • 1013
  • Person

Abel Edwards served at Fort Churchill, a Hudson's Bay Company fort, from 1813-1814.

Edwards, Frederick C.O.

  • 1015
  • Person

Frederick C.O. Edwards was a resident of Dawson City, Yukon.

Results 1 to 30 of 9057