Item AAAA0914 - The Centennial show

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

The Centennial show

General material designation

  • moving images

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (Vancouver)

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • [1957?] (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Custodial history

Scope and content

Variety show. A BC centennial broadcast for New Year's Day, 1958 (replacing Kraft Television Theatre). The show combines official presentations by BC's Lieutenant-Governor, a speech by Premier W.A.C. Bennett, musical entertainment, skits, tourist promotions (Bing Crosby), and illustrations including cartoon strip of Mr. Magoo.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

A VHS reference copy is available for this item.

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Copyright Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


General note

Total duration of program: 00:59:30.

General note

Accession number(s): F1984:03

Cast note

Alan Young; Bing Crosby; Ed McCurdy; Ray Norris; Fletcher Markle; Mercedes McCambridge; Steve Bosutow Mr. Magoo; George Calangis (orchestra conductor); Pat Trudel (choral director); Yvonne De Carlo; De Carlo, Yvonne

Credits note

producing agency/company: Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (Vancouver); producer: Gene Lawrence; producer: Ray Whitehouse; production assistant: Erlynne McDonald; production assistant: Bob Quintrell; set design: David Jones; graphics: Bob Chrichton; video camera: Jim Currie; video camera: Harry Hooper; video camera: Bob McQuay; lighting: Gerry O'Connor; audio: Ray Adam; technical production: John Christensen; script: Dorwin Baird; broadcaster: CBUT (Television station : Vancouver, B.C.); writer: Don Erickson; musical arrangements: Dave Robbins

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Accession area