Series GR-1521 - Certificates of purchase

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Certificates of purchase

General material designation

  • textual record
  • microform

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1859-1944 (Creation)
    British Columbia. Dept. of Lands

Physical description area

Physical description

Microfilm, 28 reels, 16 mm [B05089-B05117]

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Biographical history

The Dept. of Lands was established in 1908 (Department of Lands Act, SBC 1908, c. 31). Before 1908 the agencies responsible for the functions of the Dept. of Lands: (1) the Dept. of Lands and Works (Crown lands management, sales, pre-emptions and leases, lands surveying and mapping, timber inspection, forest protection and log scaling), and (2) the Dept. of Mines (water rights in regards to mining operations).

The Dept. of Lands, headed by the Chief Commissioner of Lands, was given responsibility for public lands and water rights, and all matters connected therewith. (SBC 1908, c. 31, s. 5). These responsibilities included: (1) the management of all public lands, as per the Land Act, (RSBC 1897, c. 113); (2) administration of water rights, as per the Water Clauses Consolidation Act, (RSBC 1897, c. 191) [in 1892 by means of the Water Privileges Act (SBC 1892, c. 47), the government had reserved to itself the right to manage all water resources in the province that were unreserved and un-appropriated as of April 23, 1892]; and (3) land settlement programs for returned soldiers.

In 1909, the enactment of the Water Act (SBC 1909, c. 48) resulted in the creation of the Water Rights Branch of the Dept. of Lands, under the management of the Chief Water Commissioner (re-named Comptroller of Water Rights in 1912). This legislation also resulted in the creation of Water Districts under the management of District Engineers, who would be responsible for management in the field of the Branch’s responsibilities.

In 1911, the Timber Department, including Timber Inspectors, forest protection services and log scaling operations, was transferred from the Dept. of Public Works to the Dept. of Lands. In 1912, the management of timber resources was formally added to the department’s responsibilities with the enactment of the Forest Act (SBC 1912, c. 17). To accommodate these new responsibilities, the Forest Branch, under the Chief Forester, was created in the Dept. of Lands. In 1945, the Dept. of Lands was renamed the Dept. of Lands and Forests (Department of Lands Act Amendment Act, SBC 1945, c. 45).

Name of creator


Biographical history

The Dept. of Lands and Works was established in 1871 under the Constitution Act (SBC 1871, c. 147). Prior to that, the origins of the department were in the offices of the Surveyor General for the Colony of Vancouver Island (1859-1866) and the Chief Commissioner of Lands and Works and Surveyor General for the Colony of British Columbia (1859-1871). The mandate of the department was to grant permission for the pre-emption of unoccupied, unsurveyed, and unreserved Crown lands, issue Crown grants and grant leases of Crown lands, oversee all survey and map functions, and construct and repair roads, bridges and buildings for public services. It was also responsible for promoting immigration. The Dept. of Lands and Works was headed by the Chief Commissioner of Lands and Works and Surveyor General. By 1899, the department was organized into two branches: Lands Branch and Works Branch. In 1908 the Dept. of Lands and Works was disestablished with an amendment to the Constitution Act (SBC 1908, c. 12). Its functions were assigned to two new departments: the Dept. of Lands (SBC 1908, c. 31) and the Dept. of Public Works (SBC 1908, c. 41).

Custodial history

Scope and content

Acknowledgement of moneys received by the Lands Department pursuant to the pre-emption or sale of crown land. Certificates include district, legal description of land, acreage, date and terms of payment, name of payer, pre-emption record number, certificate of improvement number, crown grant number and departmental file numbers. The certificates are divided into four series. SERIES 1. CERTIFICATES OF PURCHASE BY LAND DISTRICT, 1859-1913. Volumes have alphabetical indexes. B05089 Alberni District, No. 84 to Alberni District, No. 1320 [1321-1467 lacking] B05090 Alberni District, no. 1468 to Cariboo District - Fort George, No. 964 B05091 Cariboo District - Fort George, No. 965 to Cariboo District - Quesnelle, No. 498 B05092 Cariboo District – Quesnelle Forks, No. 499 to Cariboo District – Quesnelle Forks, No. 2201 B05093 Cariboo District – Quesnelle Forks, No. 2202 to Cariboo District – Quesnelle Forks, No. 3699 B05094 Cariboo District – Quesnelle Forks, No. 3670 to East Kootenay - North Division, No. 768 B05095 East Kootenay - North Division, No. 769 to East Kootenay - Fort Steele, No. 1770 B05096 East Kootenay - Fort Steele, No. 1771 to West Kootenay - Revelstoke, No. 282 B05097 West Kootenay - Revelstoke, No. 283 to West Kootenay - Nelson, No. 2605 B05098 West Kootenay - Nelson, No. 2606 to Lillooet, No. 1575 B05099 Lillooet, No. 1576 to Nicola, No. 523 B05100 Nicola, No. 524 to New Westminster, No. 1485 B05101 New Westminster, No. 1486 to Omineca, No. 385 B05102 Omineca, No. 386 to Omineca, No. 2784 B05013 Omineca, No. 2785 to Omineca, No. 5355 B05014 Omineca, No. 5356 to Osoyoos, No. 2740 B05015 Osoyoos, No. 2741 to Skeena, No. 740 B05016 Skeena, No. 741 to Skeena, No. 2893 B05017 Skeena, No. 2894 to Vancouver - New Westminster Division, No. 100 SERIES 2. CERTIFICATES OF PURCHASE, 1874-1890. TOWN LOTS AND MISCELLANEOUS DISTRICT CERTIFICATES. Volumes have alphabetical indexes. B05108 New Westminster town lots No. 5 to New Westminster, Victoria & Vancouver, No. 355 SERIES 3. CERTIFICATES OF PURCHASE, 1886-1936. Numerical/chronological books. B05108 No. 301 to No. 934 B05109 No. 935 to No. 3491 B05110 No. 3492 to No. 6124 B05111 No. 6125 to No. 8975 B05112 No. 8976 to No. 11795 B05113 No. 11796 to No. 14675 B05114 No. 14676 to No. 17595 B05115 No. 177596 to No. 20494 B05116 No. 20495 to No. 23145 SERIES 4. CERTIFICATES OF PURCHASE, 1907-1944. Vancouver Island certificate books. B05117 No. 1 to No. 2977

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

Originals transferred to PABC, 1979. Microfilmed 1984-1985. Originals destroyed.


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

There are no access restrictions.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Associated materials


Related materials


General note

Accession number(s): 94-3977

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres