Showing 2 results

Archival description
Series Elections--Canada
Print preview View:

Election records from Victoria

  • GR-1667
  • Series
  • 1871-1872

This series consists of poll-books, voters' lists, and correspondence relating to two landmark elections in British Columbia: the election of 1871 of representatives to the provincial legislature, and the election of 1872, called to elect provincial members to the Dominion House of Commons - respectively the first provincial election and the first federal election held in B.C. These records document B.C.'s last "open voting" elections (i.e. a secret ballot was not used). Compiled by A.F. Pemberton, Chief Returning Officer for Victoria, the records pertain to Victoria City, Victoria District, Esquimalt and Metchosin.

The election of 1871 was held in various parts of the province between October and December. It was conducted in accordance with the Colonial Election Regulation Act [34 Vic., No. 13, a statute which affirmed the practice of open voting (as opposed to the secret ballot). Thus, the poll books in this collection show the names of electors and the candidates for whom each elector voted. Voter's qualifications were determined by the colonial Qualification and Registration of Voters' Act [34 Vic., No. 156]. To qualify for the franchise, a voter had to be male, a loyal British subject, over twenty-one years of age, literate (at least able to write his name), and a resident in B.C. for no less than six months. In addition, qualified electors had to meet one of the following criteria: occupy premises with an annual rent of $40 or more; own freehold property having an assessed value of at least $250; have a pre-emption claim of 100 acres or more; possess a free-miners' license.

The Dominion election of 1872 was held under the authority of two federal statutes: the Interim Parliamentary Election Act of 1871 [34 Vic., c.20] and the Act to Re-adjust the Representation in the House of Commons, 1872 [35 Vic., c.13]. The first statute made provisions for holding a federal election in B.C.; the second confirmed the number of MPs to be elected from B.C. [6] and established federal electoral boundaries. 2 MPs were elected from the district of Victoria; 1 MP from the district of Vancouver (i.e. Vancouver Island north of Victoria and adjacent to the Gulf Islands); 1 MP for each of the districts of New Westminster, Yale, and Cariboo. Section 5 of the Interim Parliamentary Elections Act declared that the laws already in force in B.C. would apply to the election of 1872. Accordingly, polling for the province's first federal election was carried out under colonial legislation noted above. The Dominion election was also carried out in accordance with B.C.'s Corrupt Practices Prevention Act [34 Vic., No. 158], a colonial statute which stipulated that candidates had to declare all expenses incurred during their campaign. Hence the documents in Box 1, files 6 & 7 of this collection.

The records in GR-1667 relate solely to the Victoria electoral district. For elections to the provincial legislature, the riding included areas within the city's limits. Federally, however, the electoral district of Victoria embraced the City of Victoria and adjacent areas of Saanich (Victoria District), Esquimalt and Metchosin. A.F. Pemberton was the district's chief Returning Officer in both elections. In the provincial election -- held on 16 October 1871 -- Pemberton established the district polling station at the Police Barracks in Bastion Square. In the Dominion election -- held on 2 September 1872 -- he established six polling stations. The polls were open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Three candidates contested the two Victoria seats: Amor DeCosmos, Henry Nathan and Robert Beavan. DeCosmos, and Nathan were elected. The results of the election, and returns from each of the polling stations, were published in the Victoria Daily Colonist (3 Sep 1872).

British Columbia. Dept. of the Provincial Secretary

William Neelands Chant papers

Speeches; correspondence, official and personal; invitations; diverse government reports, memoranda, and briefs; correspondence, speeches, handbooks and papers concerning Social Credit Party organization and campaigns, and monetary policy. Material transferred to Map Collection, Visual Records and the BC Archives Library. During his career William Neelands Chant was a businessman, farmer, MLA (Alberta and B.C.), Minister of Agriculture (Alta.), and the Minister of Public Works (B.C.). The records include speeches; correspondence, official and personal; invitations; diverse government reports, memoranda, and briefs; correspondence, speeches, handbooks and papers concerning Social Credit Party organization and campaigns, and monetary policy. Books, photographs and maps transferred to other units. See list at the end of the finding aid. Material transferred to BC Archives Library (check library catalogue for call numbers): British Columbia. The Law Courts, Victoria, British Columbia [Leather bound copy] British Columbia. Education Building, UBC, Vancouver, B.C. Draft Canadian Constitutional Charter British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority, First Annual Report Power Means Progress. British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. Standing Order (adopted February 20, 1930) Queen's Printer, 1955 H.E. Nichols, A Handbook of Social Credit, Edmonton Reading Reference to Social Credit: A Bibliography, compiled by Michael Sinclair, 1963 American Historical Documents from official Archives [portfolio] British Columbia. Centennial Edition. 1964 T.J. Irwin, The Pageantry of Parliament. [Pamphlet, no date] Major C.H. Douglas, "Social Credit Principles". Speech, 1924 Material transferred to Visual Records accession 198006-033 includes: 4 photo albums, with numerous loose photographs 4 boxes (approximately 20 slides each) 35 mm color transparencies metal plate of photo of W.N. Chant Envelope containing 11 loose photos of Chant Cuts of photos of Chant Album "To the Government of the Province of British Columbia" advertising work of Townley, Matheson & Partners, Dexter Bush and Associates Ltd., Skidmore, Owings and Merrill, architects and engineers Material transferred to Map Collection: Map. Columbia River Basin in British Columbia, showing principal water powers. Map registration number 14009B. Map. British Columbia. Electoral districts. Redistribution 1966. Duplicate of this map available. See CM/A1128. Map. Plan of part of the Municipality of Richmond, showing suggested land reclamation scheme on Sturgeon Bank. Map registration number 13829B.

Chant, William Neelands, 1895-1976